The Fight is the Story v. 3.0: panel #1 review

the big blue bear greets all the geeks


Day One of Denver Comic Con was lovely–what a good way to nerd out for a weekend. Hereby is the first of several recounts of my panel experiences at this year’s con.

Noon on Friday was the first panel I enjoyed. I enjoyed it because I was on it–the panel was called: “From Aquaman to Zatanna: using comic books in the classroom.”

Oddly, neither one of us presenters on the panel really focused on that topic. I modified what is now my 3rd annual Fight is the Story presentation to adhere more to fit under that aegis, but….yeah. Well, the small audience left by the time I presented were very into it, and we had some good conversations surrounding especially the inefficacy of the big lightsaber fight at the end of Episode 1. 

Star Wars Episode 1, you guys. You know the one I mean. The one where there’s no reason for the fight to be happening, the one where nobody is trying to do anything to anyone else? That one.

As a closing note: what is it about academia that makes for people reading their scholarly papers aloud, verbatim, instead of presenting them in an engaging manner? I know what you’re thinking: “But Jenn, not everybody is theatrically trained like you. In fact, very few are.” Yeah, that’s true, but….yeah. 

Leave a Reply

