Nerding Out Via PowerPoint: panel review #6

I had no pic from this panel, so please to enjoy this from the mob at the Artists’ Alley. Now where’s my Snapericot ale??


Now I’m adjunct faculty for a living, lovely lurkers, so I perforce have little to no money for even the things I need, let alone any extras. This is why I’m not a huge con-goer in general, and my glib reply to those who ask if I cosplay is, “it cos too much to play.” /rimshot/ In fact, I only go to DCC because I get free admission, being a presenter. So. I’m asking you the following bc I don’t have the con frequenter’s experience behind me:

Is it just a normal con thing, for panels to be concocted from groups of fangirls-and-boys, instead of experts? It just seems… Well to me it seems odd that you have all these celebrity appearances and how-to type things from some experts (especially at DCC, where Pop Culture Classroom is such a central part), but are panels other than that just….geeks geeking out?

The panel called Worlds of Moffatt was a pretty fun premise: it was set up as an expose or overview, if you will, of the shows that Stephen Moffatt headed, besides Doctor Who (well they had a little of that too). So that was cool, in that we had exposure to and clips from stuff we may not have heard of, like Jekyll and Coupling and etc. 

But

Sigh

I mean all it was was a group of nerds nerding out about their thing with a PowerPoint and all of us watching. Which to me does not constitute a panel. 

But then like I said I don’t really know much about cons.

Leave a Reply

